General Entry Instructions 2013



(Under British Rowing Rules)



  1. The Race from Mortlake to Putney WILL START AT 1245 ON SATURDAY 23 MARCH 2013.
  2. Entries will be open:
    • For Overseas (including IARU) clubs: 10.00, 1st January to 17.00, 25th January
    • For British Rowing, Welsh Rowing and Scottish Rowing clubs only: 10.00, 26th January to 17.00, 22nd February
  3. Entry for HORR 2013 will be through British Rowing On-Line Entry ONLY . It is essential that all Scottish clubs read very carefully the references to them on the Note to British Captains and that Overseas Clubs read the instructions for them on Notes and Entry Regulations for Overseas Clubs.  Only 400 crews will be accepted . For this reason , entries of crews which appear to be more suited to the Vesta Veterans' HOR may be refused .

    Names of crews entered may be inspected after 28 February on application to the Hon. Secretary.
    Names of substitutes (maximum FOUR only apart from the coxswain) who are to row in the Race must be notified to the Hon. Secretary either:

    1. through the British Rowing on-line system up to 20.00 on 22 March or
    2. on the attached form [PDF] [DOC] at any time

    no later than one hour before the start of the Race.

    If a rower is named as a substitute as part of the original on-line entry and is then promoted to row in the Race, this must be notified to the Hon. Secretary in the same way . For GB entries , the registration number and points of any substitute must be declared.

    Notice of withdrawal ("scratching") should be given to the Hon. Secretary in writing or , if this is not possible , by telephone before the start of the Race . For 2013, any club/crew not complying will be liable to be excluded at the Draw for places in 2014.

  5. CAPTAINS ARE REMINDED THAT WOMEN MAY ONLY COMPETE IN THE RACE AS COXSWAINS (Scottish rowing clubs please note especially this year)


    Any crew failing to comply with either of the above regulations is liable to disqualification.


    Race Rules , regulations and full instructions for crews will be posted on this website by the Chief Marshal not later than 1 February . It is the Club's responsibility to read these .

    The full Starting order will be posted on or before 28 February .

    Official Empacher and linen numbers will be distributed as usual ; they will be delivered to host clubs at least 24 hours before Race time , and therefore only crews boating from Putney need to collect theirs from Race HQ at Ranelagh Sailing Club . Equally , it is essential that any change in a crew's host club is notified to the Secretary in good time . This page will list host clubs for all entrants after 28 February. 

    All boats will require Empacher slots .

    Numbers must be returned to the Secretary as follows:

    1. up to 2200 on Race Day , to Ranelagh Sailing Club
    2. by post to the Secretary ONLY

    A charge of THIRTY POUNDS will be made for each number lost or damaged.


    The Head of the River Race cannot assist in the provision of accommodation , or the loan of boats or oars . It is the responsibility of all visiting crews to make their own arrangements for boats , changing , embarkation and disembarkation directly with Tideway clubs and in particular with respect to any required loan or hire of boats or equipment . No club should attempt to embark without having previously arranged to do so with the Tideway club whose facilities they wish to use. The Hon. Secretary must be informed of the boating arrangements of all non-Tideway crews . If this information is not supplied , the entry will be rejected . Clubs are strongly advised to arrange to boat from and return to Chiswick , as the number of crews permitted to boat from Putney will again be limited by the Police , and the parking of trailers severely restricted.

    Permits for access to Putney will not be granted to trailers of overseas clubs.


    The Fairbairn Trophy to the crew finishing Head and individual medals for the members of the crew.
    The Vernon Trophy to the fastest British Rowing club crew normally rowing on the Thames Tideway (between Teddington Lock and the mouth of the Thames), and individual medals for the members of the crew.
    The Page Trophy to the fastest British Rowing club crew normally rowing on the Thames or its tributaries and ineligible for the Vernon Trophy, and individual medals for the members of the crew.
    The Jackson Trophy to the fastest crew from an open British Rowing club not normally rowing on the Thames or its tributaries - and therefore ineligible for the Vernon or Page Trophies -  and individual medals for the members of the crew.
    The award of the Vernon, Page and Jackson Trophies is subject to the Committee's absolute discretion.
    The Bernard Churcher Trophy to the fastest crew from any University or College club - including those from Overseas.
    The Halladay Trophy to the fastest crew from a University or College club affiliated to BR, SR or WARA , provided that the crew is i) of status Intermediate 1 or lower and ii) the club has no crews entered at Elite or Senior status.
    To be eligible for either University Trophy , all members of such crews must be in statu pupillari - that is, registered as students of the relevant University or College as at Race day.
    Pennants and Plaques to the Head , 2nd and 3rd crews
    A Pennant, Plaque and Individual Medals to the fastest British crew entered in each of the following BR classifications , as defined in the current Rules of Racing , except that any qualifying for the Head , 2nd or 3rd pennant will not be eligible for a classification award , which will then be made to the next highest in the classification.
    • Senior
    • Intermediate 1
    • Intermediate 2
    • Intermediate 3 (Academic)
    • Intermediate 3 (Club)
    • Novice (Academic)
    • Novice (Club)

    Overseas (including Irish) crews are not eligible to compete in these classifications.

    A Trophy and Individual Medals to the fastest Overseas crew.
    A Pennant, Plaque and Individual Medals to the fastest Lightweight crew (qualification to be that all crew members weigh-in at a maximum of 73.5 kg. on Race Day)

    Will be displayed at Putney Embankment clubs and elsewhere as they become available.

    Results will also be available by electronic means ; site addresses will be listed in the Official Programme.

    The prize-giving will take place at London Rowing Club in April 2013 , by invitation.